The Cabinet of the Solar Plexus – Landmark Exhibition in Dublin

Posted by on Sep 8, 2016


Dolorosa De La Cruz is an internationally acclaimed esoteric artist whose arresting, evocative images and sculptures resonate with a surreal, erotic potency. Her curatorial skills have long been obvious as vividly demonstrated in her inspirational online project  ‘The Cabinet of the Solar Plexus’, which showcases a cross-genre cornucopia of artists and celebrates the weird, sublime and ecstatic in visual art. This project is now set to manifest as an exhibition in Dublin at the Gallery X. The opening night is on the 9th September and the show closes on the 24th September. Some additional special events will take place over the duration of the exhibition, a Culture Night takes place on the 16th September (18.00-23,00) and will include performances by Paul Holman and Bridget Penny, and feature two little known films by Swedish documentarist Carl Abrahamsson and more.
The inimitable writer/publisher and occultist David Beth will be doing a talk on ‘Bodies and Mysteries: Objects, images and the pan-daemonic All’ on 24th September as part of the closing day.

This is an important exhibition of Esoteric Art, not to be missed!

‘The Cabinet of the Solar Plexus & Gallery X present this landmark exhibition of international esoteric and arcane art. This is not only the first event of this kind for Ireland, but also the first time works by legendary figures such as Austin Osman Spare, Hans Bellmer, and Leonor Fini – amongst many others – will be exhibited in the country. Unrestricted by dogma or shared ideology, this exhibition encapsulates the vibrant and expansive scope of esoteric and ecstatic art, and shall afford the viewer a rare opportunity to be enchanted to the most exotic outer reaches of the imagination and the spirit.’

Some of the Featured artists …

Dolorosa De La Cruz


Steven Stapleton


George Russell (AE)

Leonor Fini


Jonas Sen


Val Denham


André Masson


Luciana Lupe Vasconcelos


Alan Kostrenčić


Hans Bellmer


Barry William Hale


Michael Bertiaux




Wladd Mutta


Victoria Musson


Damien Echols